Page 1 of 2

Programming For Classic

PostPosted: 05 Apr 2014, 01:14
by Leeizazombie
I'm making a program for my community and I just tought I'd see how everyone would react to it :)
Co developer is _Retaliate_
Here's a screenshot of it's best feature:

Image

Re: Programming For Classic

PostPosted: 05 Apr 2014, 18:32
by dzienny
It looks very promising. I got a technical question about CC. Does it include CC, or does it get it each time from the website? I ask about it because in the first case some unique extensions could be added and that would be cool.

Also, I have one suggestion. You could get a player's achievement list, and display the unlocked awards with some suitable icons.

Re: Programming For Classic

PostPosted: 05 Apr 2014, 19:31
by Leeizazombie
It was embedded from the website like ?embed=true. a custom server list was made and we had to import a lot of files frm the %APPDATA% directory, the whole structure of that client was made by _Retaliate_ and I was thinking how I could get information off a single server like my own, would that be done by making a custom heartbeat?

Re: Programming For Classic

PostPosted: 05 Apr 2014, 20:05
by dzienny
You could use HTTP protocol for that. Set up an HTTP listener with HttpListener class and handle the incoming queries. There are some nice articles about how to set up a simple HTTP server, for example: http://www.codeproject.com/Articles/137 ... erver-in-C

The client would then just make an HTTP GET request, example:
Code: Select all
http://[server-ip]:[port]/achievements?user=[user-name]

And the server would return the suitable data in JSON, XML or CSV format, example:
Code: Select all
{
"user" : "LeeIzaZombie",
"awards" : [
{ "firstWin" : 1 },
{ "tenBrains" : 0 }
]
}

The client would then parse the data and display it to the user.

You can do it as a custom command, or using the Plugin API (if you want to create a GUI for it).

Re: Programming For Classic

PostPosted: 05 Apr 2014, 20:55
by Conor
This looks very cool.

It's great to see how far people go in the community. You used to regularly suggest very basic commands and ask for help with them. And now you are offering other people help and creating your own software. I used to help you a time ago and now it would be the other way round.

It's so awesome to see people as crazy interested in the coding as I used to be. Good job with this, it looks awesome <ok>

Spoiler:

Re: Programming For Classic

PostPosted: 05 Apr 2014, 21:17
by Leeizazombie
Thanks Dzienny, I'll try something :)
Well Connor, you know what they say; the best techniques come from the veterans.
What I mean is that I learnt from the pro's, thanks :)

Re: Programming For Classic

PostPosted: 07 Apr 2014, 19:21
by joppiesaus
Wow, that looks awesome! <ok>
Is it Java or C#? How did you implement the Classicube client in it?

Well anyways you are a GREAT person to this community! I'll definetly use it! <ok>

Re: Programming For Classic

PostPosted: 07 Apr 2014, 23:34
by Leeizazombie
joppiesaus wrote:Wow, that looks awesome! <ok>
Is it Java or C#? How did you implement the Classicube client in it?

Well anyways you are a GREAT person to this community! I'll definetly use it! <ok>


It is in pure C#, well first it starts with a custom made server list (ClassiCube servers) and when you join it will see if you're logged in, if not then be sent to the login page, then it continues with the URL of the server you tried to join, it's all website based, but still in full screen, it has to import ClassiCube files also.

Oh if you want to try it then go to my website: http://leeizazombie.cba.pl/viewtopic.php?f=68&t=152 might not be the latest version but the updater will make sure! :lol:

Re: Programming For Classic

PostPosted: 08 Apr 2014, 18:11
by joppiesaus
I looked into your client and... It's awesome! It's really a "community" client. I also like the built-in gadget thinggys, so you can download your own skin for example. <ok>
Also a really smart way to do classicube from the web, instead of implementing CCC...
I also noticed a funny error, which I am able to fix just to goto the Java properties screen. I had set the security from high to medium. :P
funny error.PNG
funny error.PNG (21.93 KiB) Viewed 1073 times

Re: Programming For Classic

PostPosted: 08 Apr 2014, 21:13
by Leeizazombie
I'm glad you like it! That error is because ClassiCube still don't have it signed on the website so changing security settings is all you can do for now lol