How Do I Make Lava Flood in Layers?

How Do I Make Lava Flood in Layers?

Postby stardust0123 » 27 Oct 2012, 16:24

Well, How do I do it? I would like this because sometimes it gets a little bit laggy with the defualt flooding style...
stardust0123
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 25 Jun 2012, 00:21

Re: How Do I Make Lava Flood in Layers?

Postby HelloWorldCool » 28 Oct 2012, 02:10

Explain what you mean about Layers.

What you can do:

1. Navigate to ".\lava\maps.txt"
2. You probably see this somewhere:

Code: Select all
  <Map name="cube" phase1="0" phase2="0" author="">
    <Source block="ahl" x="39" y="62" z="39" type="" delay="0" />
  </Map>


3. Change the source block to some other lava type.
Ex: <Source block="lava_fast"

That should help you. You can also make it CALM lava state all the time if you want. If the lava state is always WILD or FURIOUS the server could get a lot of lag. Finally if lag becomes a problem try using stable settings.

Good Luck,
HelloWorldCool
Download fCraft maps! - viewtopic.php?f=25&t=3012!



Note: The Developer(s) of MCDzienny have resigned and the software is no longer supported.
Errors are bound to occur and Mojang has not attempted to resolve them.
User avatar
HelloWorldCool
 
Posts: 867
Joined: 18 Oct 2011, 00:19
Location: MCDzienny Forums, HelloWorldCool Forums

Re: How Do I Make Lava Flood in Layers?

Postby stardust0123 » 31 Oct 2012, 03:25

I mean, instead of flooding from the top of the map down, traditionally, I want it to flood in layers going up.
stardust0123
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 25 Jun 2012, 00:21

Re: How Do I Make Lava Flood in Layers?

Postby HelloWorldCool » 31 Oct 2012, 21:47

stardust0123 wrote:I mean, instead of flooding from the top of the map down, traditionally, I want it to flood in layers going up.


Very easy my friend. There are two ways to do this. Choose your way ;)

Easy (Tedious though): /setlava up
*This is tedious because you have to do this at the beginning of the map ALL the time.

Hard (but worth it in the long run):

Code: Select all
  <Map name="cube" phase1="0" phase2="0" author="">
    <Source block="ahl" x="39" y="62" z="39" type="" delay="0" />
    <Command command="setlava up" delay="0" phase="1" />
  </Map>

*All you have to include is the extra <command command..> parameters to run when the map loads.

Good Luck,
HelloWorldCool
Download fCraft maps! - viewtopic.php?f=25&t=3012!



Note: The Developer(s) of MCDzienny have resigned and the software is no longer supported.
Errors are bound to occur and Mojang has not attempted to resolve them.
User avatar
HelloWorldCool
 
Posts: 867
Joined: 18 Oct 2011, 00:19
Location: MCDzienny Forums, HelloWorldCool Forums

Re: How Do I Make Lava Flood in Layers?

Postby stardust0123 » 03 Nov 2012, 19:12

Thanks.
stardust0123
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 25 Jun 2012, 00:21

Re: How Do I Make Lava Flood in Layers?

Postby dzienny » 06 Nov 2012, 01:19

What HelloWorldCool wrote is one way. You can also use this:

<Map name="cube" phase1="0" phase2="0" author="">
<Source block="ahl" x="39" y="30" z="39" type="crawling" delay="0" />
</Map>

Make sure that the starting point is at the bottom of the map. Also, mind that the lava that pours out in layers will lag the server more than the standard one.
User avatar
dzienny
Administrator
 
Posts: 1181
Joined: 23 Jan 2011, 14:27

Re: How Do I Make Lava Flood in Layers?

Postby kozmik1975 » 10 Nov 2012, 15:27

I have also found adding seperate lava timers convenient when it comes to lag.
The script below is one I use for a rather tall map and have spaced the timers out above each other at approximately the same space apart. Then I have delayed each timer (in this particular map) 60 seconds apart. I have also extended the actual lava flood time to 10 minutes (Phase2) instead of my default setting of 5 minutes.

<Map name="bigben" phase1="0" phase2="10" author="">
<Source block="ahl" x="1" y="8" z="33" type="" delay="0" />
<Source block="ahl" x="1" y="22" z="33" type="" delay="60" />
<Source block="ahl" x="1" y="37" z="33" type="" delay="120" />
<Source block="ahl" x="1" y="52" z="33" type="" delay="180" />
<Source block="ahl" x="1" y="67" z="33" type="" delay="240" />
<Source block="ahl" x="1" y="82" z="33" type="" delay="300" />
<Source block="ahl" x="1" y="97" z="33" type="" delay="360" />
<Source block="ahl" x="1" y="112" z="33" type="" delay="420" />
<Source block="ahl" x="1" y="127" z="33" type="" delay="480" />
<Command command="say %aThere is a hidden %eTREASURE %ablock on this map!" delay="5" phase="1" />
</Map>

I have done this to quite a few of my LS maps now and have found I can use the larger maps as well with the extended flood time. The lag has also been minimal. Each map may need to be individually adjusted as you field test your new maps. Hope this has been of help.

kozmik1975
Owner of KOZMIK Lava Survival
kozmik1975
Owner of KOZMIK Lava Survival
http://www.kozmiklavasurvival.com/
kozmik1975
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 08 Jul 2012, 07:58
Location: NSW, Australia

Re: How Do I Make Lava Flood in Layers?

Postby HelloWorldCool » 10 Nov 2012, 15:44

kozmik1975 wrote:I have also found adding seperate lava timers convenient when it comes to lag.
The script below is one I use for a rather tall map and have spaced the timers out above each other at approximately the same space apart. Then I have delayed each timer (in this particular map) 60 seconds apart. I have also extended the actual lava flood time to 10 minutes (Phase2) instead of my default setting of 5 minutes.

<Map name="bigben" phase1="0" phase2="10" author="">
<Source block="ahl" x="1" y="8" z="33" type="" delay="0" />
<Source block="ahl" x="1" y="22" z="33" type="" delay="60" />
<Source block="ahl" x="1" y="37" z="33" type="" delay="120" />
<Source block="ahl" x="1" y="52" z="33" type="" delay="180" />
<Source block="ahl" x="1" y="67" z="33" type="" delay="240" />
<Source block="ahl" x="1" y="82" z="33" type="" delay="300" />
<Source block="ahl" x="1" y="97" z="33" type="" delay="360" />
<Source block="ahl" x="1" y="112" z="33" type="" delay="420" />
<Source block="ahl" x="1" y="127" z="33" type="" delay="480" />
<Command command="say %aThere is a hidden %eTREASURE %ablock on this map!" delay="5" phase="1" />
</Map>

I have done this to quite a few of my LS maps now and have found I can use the larger maps as well with the extended flood time. The lag has also been minimal. Each map may need to be individually adjusted as you field test your new maps. Hope this has been of help.

kozmik1975
Owner of KOZMIK Lava Survival



+1 Thanks for this idea kozmik1975. I may use this idea for my maps.
Download fCraft maps! - viewtopic.php?f=25&t=3012!



Note: The Developer(s) of MCDzienny have resigned and the software is no longer supported.
Errors are bound to occur and Mojang has not attempted to resolve them.
User avatar
HelloWorldCool
 
Posts: 867
Joined: 18 Oct 2011, 00:19
Location: MCDzienny Forums, HelloWorldCool Forums


Return to Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron